Cambridge Catalog  
  • Your account
  • View basket
  • Help
Home > Catalog > The Theatre of Sam Shepard
The Theatre of Sam Shepard


  • 8 b/w illus.
  • Page extent: 315 pages
  • Size: 228 x 152 mm
  • Weight: 0.685 kg

Library of Congress

  • Dewey number: 812/.54
  • Dewey version: 21
  • LC Classification: PS3569.H394 Z63 1998
  • LC Subject headings:
    • Shepard, Sam,--1943- --Criticism and interpretation

Library of Congress Record


 (ISBN-13: 9780521582421 | ISBN-10: 0521582423)

Replaced by 9780521587914


This comprehensive analysis traces Sam Shepard's career from his experimental one-act plays of the 1960s through the 1994 play Simpatico. Concentrating on his playwriting, this book charts Shepard's various developments and shifts of direction, and the changing contexts in which his work has appeared. Engaging, informative, and insightful, The Theatre of Sam Shepard is the definitive source on the works of this innovative and original writer.


Preface; Introduction: states of crisis; 1. Working out: the early plays, 1964–7; 2. Kicking out: rock and ruin, 1967–72; 3. Sorting out: an English interlude, 1971–4; 4. Nightmares of the nation: improvizations and collaborations, 1976–9; 5. Strychnine in the gut: Curse of the Starving Class (1977) and Buried Child (1978); 6. The real thing: True West (1980) and Fool for Love (1983); 7. Fire in the snow: two movies and A Lie of the Mind, 1984–88; 8. Victory and loss: the nation in the '90s; Afterword; Chronology.

printer iconPrinter friendly version AddThis