Skip to content
Register Sign in Wishlist
Look Inside Schoenberg's Transformation of Musical Language

Schoenberg's Transformation of Musical Language

$58.99 (C)

Part of Music in the Twentieth Century

  • Date Published: November 2009
  • availability: Available
  • format: Paperback
  • isbn: 9780521122740

$ 58.99 (C)

Add to cart Add to wishlist

Other available formats:

Looking for an examination copy?

If you are interested in the title for your course we can consider offering an examination copy. To register your interest please contact providing details of the course you are teaching.

Product filter button
About the Authors
  • Arnold Schoenberg is widely regarded as one of the most significant and innovative composers of the twentieth century. It is commonly assumed that Schoenberg's music divides into three periods: tonal, atonal, and serial. It is also assumed that Schoenberg's atonal music made a revolutionary break with the past, particularly in terms of harmonic structure. This book challenges both these popular notions. Haimo argues that Schoenberg's 'atonal' music does not constitute a distinct unified period. He demonstrates that much of the music commonly described as 'atonal' did not make a complete break with prior practices, even in the harmonic realm, but instead transformed the past by a series of incremental changes. An important and influential contribution to the field, Haimo's findings help not only to re-evaluate Schoenberg, but also to re-date much of what has been defined as one of the most crucial turning points in music history.

    • Chronological presentation of the material allows the reader to follow the path of evolution of Schoenberg's music
    • Includes many music examples, enabling the reader to follow specific examples of the features under discussion
    • An original perspective on Schoenberg's works, supplemented by use of biographical evidence
    Read more

    Reviews & endorsements

    '… impressive book … Haimo argues his case compellingly.' Alfred Cramer, Journal of the American Musicological Society

    Customer reviews

    Not yet reviewed

    Be the first to review

    Review was not posted due to profanity


    , create a review

    (If you're not , sign out)

    Please enter the right captcha value
    Please enter a star rating.
    Your review must be a minimum of 12 words.

    How do you rate this item?


    Product details

    • Date Published: November 2009
    • format: Paperback
    • isbn: 9780521122740
    • length: 444 pages
    • dimensions: 244 x 170 x 23 mm
    • weight: 0.7kg
    • availability: Available
  • Table of Contents

    1. 'Atonality': a revisionist thesis
    2. 'Based on tradition': Four Songs, Op. 2, 1899
    3. The principle of incremental innovation: Verklärte Nacht, 1899
    4. Conservative song-cycle, progressive cantata: Gurrelieder, 1900–1911
    5. Programmatic music and its implications: Pelleas und Melisande Op. 5, 1902–3
    6. Consolidation: Songs, Op. 3, 1903–4
    7. Abstract form, secret program: String Quartet, Op. 7, 1904–5
    8. Referencial centres? Lieder and Fragments, Fall 1905
    9. Absolute music and its consequences: Chamber Symphony, Op. 9, 1905–6
    10. Crisis: Friede auf Erden, Op. 13, Ballades, Op. 12, and the reception of Shoenberg's music, August 1906–July 1907
    11. Motivic economy: String Quartet No. 2, Op. 10, movements one and two, March–December 1907
    12. 'Until then I lacked the strength and confidence': Two Songs, Op. 14, December 1907–March 1908
    13. Beyond triads: the first layer of Das Buch der hängenden Gärten, Op. 15, March–April 1908
    14. 'On revient toujours?' Returning to Opp. 10 and 15, June 1908–February 1909
    15. The analysis of Schoenberg's post–1908 music: Pieces for piano, Op. 11, nos. 1 and 2, February 1909
    16. 'Intoxicated by the enthusiasm': Five Orchestral Pieces, Op. 16
    Piece for Piano, Op. 11, No. 3, May–August 1909
    17. The birth (and death) of new music: August 1909 and beyond

  • Author

    Ethan Haimo, University of Notre Dame, Indiana

Sign In

Please sign in to access your account


Not already registered? Create an account now. ×

Sorry, this resource is locked

Please register or sign in to request access. If you are having problems accessing these resources please email

Register Sign in
Please note that this file is password protected. You will be asked to input your password on the next screen.

» Proceed

You are now leaving the Cambridge University Press website. Your eBook purchase and download will be completed by our partner Please see the permission section of the catalogue page for details of the print & copy limits on our eBooks.

Continue ×

Continue ×

Continue ×

Find content that relates to you

Join us online

This site uses cookies to improve your experience. Read more Close

Are you sure you want to delete your account?

This cannot be undone.


Thank you for your feedback which will help us improve our service.

If you requested a response, we will make sure to get back to you shortly.

Please fill in the required fields in your feedback submission.