

employers to discuss career opportunities and featured recruiters and onsite interviews, career development, resume critique and mock interviews, professional photos, and job seeker/employer networking. All services are free of charge to MRS members.

Attendees learned about MRS/OSA and MRS/TMS Congressional Fellowships during a Congressional Science and Engineering Fellowship Program Information Session. Current

and former Fellows shared their experiences as scientists in the Senate and House of Representatives. Materials Voice was available on-site to gather support for sustained federal research funding through personalized letters addressed to representatives on Capitol Hill.

Award recipients at the Fall Meeting were Monica Jung de Andrade, who received the MRS 2017 Woody White Service Award, Andy Tay, who

received the inaugural MRS Bulletin Postdoctoral Publication Prize, and the team of Fabien Debrot, Jean Cattin, Esteban Rucavado, and Elliot Morgan, who won first place in the Science in Video Competition.

These highlights and more from the 2017 MRS Fall Meeting are available through news coverage of the Meeting in *Meeting Scene*® and on MRS TV. Further information can be accessed at www.mrs.org/fall2017.

Science in Video Awards

www.mrs.org/sci-vid

This past fall, the Science in Video (SciVid) competition accepted submissions of short, two-minute videos about a wide range of materials science topics that were intended to teach, amaze, and amuse a broad audience. During the 2017 MRS Fall Meeting, SciVid spotlighted the finalists from the competition, where 23 video entries were received. Sponsors included the MRS Foundation, Goodfellow Corporation, and A.J. Drexel Nanomaterials Institute. First place was awarded \$1000, second place \$500, third place \$300, and People's Choice received \$700.

The video finalists were posted to YouTube, where viewers were able to

vote for their favorite submission for the People's Choice Award. There were 6500 video views in less than 10 days, with more than 1400 people voting.

Babak Anasori, Drexel University, created and chaired the competition. "It takes weeks to make a good video. It is much more difficult than a photo. I saw this competition as a way to encourage students to work with other departments and to help them learn communication skills without 'teaching' them," said Anasori.

Because of the success of the competition, it has received funding to continue through 2018.

1st Place

Let There Be Light

Produced by **Fabien Debrot**, **Jean Cattin**, **Esteban Rucavado**, and **Elliot Morgan**, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne.

2nd Place

Dissolving Microneedle Patch for Polio Vaccination

Produced by **Chandana Kolluru**, Georgia Institute of Technology.

3rd Place

Advanced Porous Materials for Fuel Cells

Produced by **Rodrigo Ortiz de la Morena** and **Antoni Forner-Cuenca**, University of St Andrews and Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

People's Choice Award

From Denticles on Shark Skin to Ship Coating

Produced by Charlton Chai Gao Jun, Poh Yu Hui, Reneita Manogaran, Shi Yan Wen, and Sandy Sim Xue Qi, Republic Polytechnic.

Honorable Mention

The Journey to Make Better Batteries Produced by Armin Vahid Mohammadi, Jafar Orangi, Andrew Tormanen, Emre Kayali, Hengze Chen, and Majid Beidaghi, Auburn University.



Back row, left to right: Armin Vahid Mohammadi, Honorable Mention; Babak Anasori, Drexel University; Stephen Aldersley, President, Goodfellow Corporation; Yury Gogotsi, Drexel University. Front row, left to right: Antoni Forner-Cuenca, 3rd place; Monica Morales, accepted award on behalf of 1st place team; Chandana Kolluru, 2nd place.